Newbie - Lopi, Jotul or Dutchwest

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pilot-werx

Nov 10, 2008
Southern, Maine
Newbie here who is looking to purchase a wood stove for our house. Currently I have it narrowd down to Lopi Liberty, XL Dutchwest or a Jotul Oslo.

The home is a total of 3900 sq feet and this will be used to supplememt the oil heat. The wood stove will be installed in a brick hearth alcove in our kitchen. I am torn as to go with the cast or plate steel. I would like something that we will have forever.

Also, if going the Dutchwest route, would you go catalytic or non-catalytic?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Chris

Pacific Energy T6 or Summit

EDIT: Non-cat. If you pay a premium for wood then maybe the cat is worth it, but to me it's just one more hassle.

I won't give you an answer but will tell you something that's bugged me since I got the Lopi. If I was buying a new stove then I wouldn't buy from any company that forbade online sales. It's irritating in this day and age to have to pay shipping and then have to drive an hour to pick it up from a dealer just because I have to go through a 'dealer'. I'm a cheapie so I would definately not want a catalytic that I had to pay a few hundred to replace every couple of years. Maybe I'm wrong about them because I don't have any experience with them. I like my Lopi and it's nice lookin too. I've had a pretty easy time learning and getting ready for colder weather.