1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Newbie Quadrafire Sante Fe user needs help getting heat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by royaloak, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. Jason Knapp

    Jason Knapp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    181
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    I ended up going out the back for the OAK. I rented a hammer drill from Home Depot with a core drill bit to go through the brick. The owner of the home didn't want to go through the cleanout or up the chimney, so out the back was the only option. It worked out nicely and looks really clean too. BTW, the owner is very happy with his stove!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,589
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Did you fabricate a 90 to send the OAK toward the back from the small hole on the side or use something off the shelf?
  3. Jason Knapp

    Jason Knapp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    181
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    I used the optional OAK that Quadrafire offers.
  4. royaloak

    royaloak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Just an update of where I'm at with my stove. I installed a OAK on Thursday and ran my stove from that evening till this afternoon on HIGH and it never got over 69 degrees in the same room as the stove and 61 in the bedrooms. The air temp outside was between 25 and 30 during this time.
    The cabin is 768 sq. ft. on the main floor with the cathedral ceiling and loft which I figure might add another 500 sq. ft.
    It was built in 2009 and is 2x6 construction with sheathing,Tyvek and quarter log.
    Unless sun hits the roof the snow stays and no icicles.
    I just have to believe 30,000 btu's is not efficient enough.
    The dealer is willing to take it back minus the exhaust pipe,OAK and log set my wife insisted on and give me a deal on a Enviro M55. I'd have to buy all new pipe since I'd be going from 3" to 4".
    Also my son might be interested in buying it.
    Is there such a thing as to much stove?
    I'm kicking my behind for not doing my research.
  5. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Its efficient enough, its just lacking enough horse power. A slightly larger unit would prolly heat the place plus. 40 to 50K BTU stove might be a better fit for your needs.
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    No such thing as To large of a unit... Can always turn a large stove down

    Can't turn a small stove up any higher than Max setting.

    The M-55 is a pretty solid unit. Lots here have it and love it.
    jtakeman likes this.
  7. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    I still think something's up. This is my current status in nearly 1970 sq ft. It's been on low the last two hours. Ill switch it back to medium and let the tstat take over for the night. I've been to -15 this winter and never a worry. I ran it full bore those nights but we made it through. I'm also two stories. No vaulted ceiling and my floor plan and stove placement work great luckily, but almost 2000 squares regardless.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361684515.805909.jpg
  8. Sweets

    Sweets Guest

    Maybe because its a quadra- junk ,no
    ??????!!!!
  9. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    Not real sure how that helps.
  10. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Let's see how much of your cabin is window or door area?

    Visit builditsolar.com and fill in all of the heat loss calculator blanks hit calculate and tell us what it says.
  11. royaloak

    royaloak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    If Dinger is getting that kind of results I have to agree with him that something's up. It's under warranty so I'm just going to have the service guy out and make sure I'm not missing something.
    Never having a pellet stove before maybe it's not burning like it should even thou it looks to me like it is.
    Thanks for all the advice.
  12. Dinger

    Dinger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    SW CO
    This was our result last night. Both numbers are lows. The stove stat was set on 71 with a 2• swing, so it went on call at 69, probably lost a degree during start up but never more than 1. It was on medium all night. Woke up this am to 73.

    Personally, I think having my ceiling fan turning the proper direction has improved our results greatly. I turn it off for a couple hours in the evening to let heat travel upstairs, but leave it on for the rest of the day usually.

    Good luck. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361731111.973534.jpg

Share This Page