Newbie Question / Recessed insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sburner

Oct 31, 2013
Mississippi
Im new to the wood stove world and have a question in regards to installing an insert into existing masonry fireplace. I live in the southern US. North East Mississippi to be exact. So it really doesnt get that cold down here. And if it does its not cold for very many continuous days. This insert isnt for trying to heat the whole house. Just to keep the wife happy in the living room where Im always complaining its hot in the house and she is always cold. I dont like turning up the heat on the electric unit and she wants it warmer in the living room.....so the compromise and I suggested the wood stove insert. Enough of that....so my question is this. I have a larger size fireplace opening of 45 inches with a sand stone facing. Due to the stones different shape and sizes/mortor joints the surround to the insert wont fit nice and snug againts them. The fireplace is deep enough that I can actually install the insert deeper into the opening and cut the surround so that it is flush at its edges with the fire brick. In other words It would be somewhat installed recessed about 6 inches behind the sandstone where the fire brick start. Which would give the surround (once I cut it down to fit) a much cleaner look than sitting on top of the sand stone. Anyone ever do this or anything negative with doing it this way?