Newbie with chimney question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ChimneyQuest

Dec 6, 2007
West Michigan
Since I developed a wood stove obsession, I've found this site and love it!

I knew nothing about wood stoves a month ago but thanks to the internet mostly, I feel like I know something now. Still I have no practical experience--and I'm not a handy person due to no DIY exposure from family. I'm interested in wood stoves because they are carbon neutral, wood is cheap and because I've always loved tending fires (when I was a kid in NoDak we burned garbage out back--don't worry I wouldn't do that now)

I want to have a professional install an efficient (probably cast iron over steel) EPA stove to efficiently heat as much of our 1200 square feet as possible--perhaps QuadraFire Yosemite or Alderlea T4.

I have lots of questions but one of the first ones is this:

Per woodheat.org I should be looking to install an interior chimney for my wood stove. And ideally it should go through both stories of my 1.5 story house. (I'm determined to do everything right and have great draft)

But I've not yet learned much about how the chimney would function on the 2nd floor. (Stove to be on the main floor) Can I run it through a closet upstairs? I believe the chimney would be insulated (I'm talking about a metal prefab chimney). Are there any special considerations as to where it can go thru the 2nd floor? (other than finding a place in the floor and ceiling where I don't run into the beams that hold the ceiling up)

Thanks to anyone who cares to answer.