NEWBIE WOODBURN’IN FOOL

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MASTERELECTRICIAN

May 28, 2009
Ellington, Connecticut
I have aquired a Jotul Fireplace 8 with a date code of 0-1-84 and yes I am a newbie . I have the perfect fireplace with a large hearth and 60 inch wide X 7'6" tall,mantle free brick wall. I am looking for installation information and advise to start :)

Get dry wood now and stack it so that the prevailing wind can blow through it.

Have a sweep thoroughly clean, inspect are report to you on the condition of the chimney. Installation sounds like it should be fairly straight forward.

Is this a freestanding Jotul Model 8 stove? If so, you'll need to decide whether the stove sits inside the firebox vented straight up or if it sits slightly in front of the firebox for better heating and vents out the rear with a short piece of pipe and then an elbow or cleanout tee connected to the liner.

Thank you for the reply, we are starting with the wood and I will call the sweep today. It will be easier to service out side of the fireplace as the hearth is plenty sized. Is the T for cleaning? Inspection? Does anyone have a copy of the Operator/Install manual from this era ?

You're no wood-burnin' fool! The fools are the ones who will enslave themselves for oil heat.

Are you familiar with insulatuion options of the liner, and the block off plate just inside the fireplace near the damper?

MASTERELECTRICIAN said: