• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

addition

May 12, 2009
Middle Atlantic
I am a newbie, trying to choose a fireplace for a new addition. Right now, we have a large cut-out where our fireplace will go. We are trying to heat -- with wood -- an area of about 1750 square feet. We have been looking at pre-fabs and inserts and have acquired enough knowledge to know that we want: high efficiency; as large a viewing area as possible in the firebox; non-catalytic (although we're open to being persuaded that catalytic is OK or preferable); capacity for large logs, if possible (minimum of 24", but larger if possible); arched opening preferable. My wife is concerned that the samll size of many of the inserts and prefabs would look out of proportion in the large (wall-size) fireplace we envision. Also, our contractor feels that we should build a masonry outside chimney for the pre-fab/insert because he's wary of long-term danger of putting other types of surrounds around the pipes. Can you folks comment on any or all of this. I would also welcome any specific product suggestions. Thanks very much in advance.

Welcome to the forum, addition.

Sounds like you're looking for a Quadrafire 7100, tho it's rated for larger area than you intend. 24" is a long log, tho!