• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Topshelf

Well I'm a newbie to the Corn/pellet craze.
I have been running my new Timber Ridge stove on and off for a month or so and have to say I love it.
I burned firewood in a wood stove for 10 years prior to that and I do not miss it a bit. Why didnt anyone tell me about this sooner?
My brother picked up a stove last fall and kept telling me how nice it was and I just didnt believe him..... I have been officially converted.
I have 3 tons of pellets stacked and ready to fly in the garage.

Bring on the cold because I'm ready baby!

Greetings, and a friendly reminder to always wear your hard hat while here as there be flying pellet pigs round abouts.

Welcome aboard Topshelf.

I too burned wood for 23 years, until we had a chimney fire in 2008. Old house and chimney was not lined (not good). At any rate, while the fire department was still there putting out our chimney fire (fortunately no damage done), the vultures were giving me quotes to have my chimney lined. When they wanted between 2 - $3,000, I decided to look into these weird contraptions called pellet stoves. Best thing I ever did. Have had my stove for 2 years now and no more freezing my butt off and killing myself bringing in wood 2 or 3X a day.

Enjoy your stove!

Welcome TopShelf.....another converted wood burner here, and new owner of an Englander 10-cpm. Started with pellets last year in an Avalon Astoria, and no looking back.

To make it official, how about posting some pics of your stove/install? We LOVE pics! Especially ones of the stove while it's burning.