Newmac add on wood furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Miggss

Dec 4, 2017
Connecticut
image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Hi all. I had a few questions and was hoping for some information. I'm fairly new to wood burning other than fireplaces. I recently purchased a home with a newmac add on wood furnace. The primary heat source is oil forced hot air. I really don't know much about the system at all. I've been doing as much research online as I can but haven't found many systems hooked up the way mine is. I hired a company to clean and inspect my chimney liner hoping to gain some information there but the person who came out didn't know anything about add on furnaces. I do know the old owner used the add on furnace on a regular basis.

The furnace is in the basement and the newmac has a stove pipe out the back which ties into the liner where the chimney probably runs close to 30 feet, maybe more(half the height of the basement wall, 2 full stories, an attic and a few feet above the roof line) the oil furnace pushes air out the top enters down at the bottom of the stove. Then ducts come out the top of the stove and feed the entire house. All air leaving the air handler(even A/C in the summertime) looks to pass through the stove. On the stove itself, there is a draft control knob above the door and another small sliding damper in the door. Many of the add on furnace setups I've seen have fans on the front of the stove with thermostats.