1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

No power - will stove run

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by gvdan, Jan 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gvdan

    gvdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    northern CA
    Our power is out and a nieghbor has a pellet stove. Would it be okay to still start the pellet stove even though the blower will not work since the power is out?

    TIA

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Dougsey

    Dougsey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Loc:
    Epping, NH
    NO!
  3. gvdan

    gvdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    northern CA
    Okay thank you.

  4. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,101
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    It won't even start - needs electric to operate in any way at all.
  5. Dougsey

    Dougsey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Loc:
    Epping, NH
    Craig, You have no imagination... a coffee can full of pellets in the burn pot and some charcoal lighter fluid...

    gvdan- I am kidding here. Don't try this, you will end up with a house full of smoke. Power is absolutely needed to run the stove.
  6. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,472
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    I was going to suggest that he go ahead and try it just to be a turkey but then I remembered that some stoves are manually ignited and that that would be a smokey mistake. A small generator of 1000 watts or less would keep the stove running. Heck, a 2000 watter should allow you to keep the fridge cold too and maybe fire up the computer.

    No backup power = no pellet heat when the grid cuts out.
  7. gvdan

    gvdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    northern CA
    Okay thanks for all of the help. I will try the charcoal lighter fluid.

    No. Just kidding. Our power is back on now so all is well. Thanks for the help. I learned something about pellet stoves.
  8. Philip

    Philip New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Loc:
    Huntsville, AL
    I experienced this first hand when the neighbor's tree came down and took out the power line on New Year's Day. I have a generator, but it's not automatic and by the time I got it fired up the room where the pellet stove is had become smokey. It wasn't too bad because the stove was only running on level 2 and I got the generator running fairly quickly. I know that if I had some vertical vent pipe, smoke in the house wouldn't have been a problem, I just haven't gotten around to putting out the money for a Tee and 15' of pipe. A battery backup from WalMart would only set me back about $50 and accomplish about the same thing so I may do that.
  9. caseyclan

    caseyclan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    Missouri
    We have a Mt Vernon, and purchased the cord which allows the use of a battery should the electricity go out. However, does anyone know if this will power the blower as well, or just the auger to drop pellets. I know the manual states that manual ignition is needed, but it is not clear on the use of the blower.
  10. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    It will run your whole stove except the auto ignition. It will run longer before it autocleans using the battery, but after it does clean you will have to manually light it again.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page