1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

No sediment trap

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by Trouthead, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trouthead

    Trouthead Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Loc:
    Wyoming
    Had a Hearthstone Santa Fe installed a few weeks back. I was reading the manual last night and ended up in the installation section, which I had not read, as the stove was installed by the shop that sold it, and I came upon the section dealing with a sediment trap.

    Looked under my stove and low and behold the flexible stainless gas line goes directly to the gas valve on the stove with no sediment trap.

    Should I call them back and have them do it right? Should I have to pay for a service call or just the parts? Should i just forget about it?

    I also had a garage heater installed by a HVAC company and sure enough there is a sediment trap sitting right out there in the open.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Danno77

    Danno77 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,009
    Loc:
    Hamilton, IL
    If you saw my other thread then you'd know I'm probably the wrong guy to be answering this, but are you sure the sediment trap isn't in the line just before the flex pipe?
  3. Fsappo

    Fsappo Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,328
    Loc:
    Central NY
    According to the gas code I dont think a sediment trap is required for all gas appliances. It may be based on BTU ratings. Did the manual suggest a trap or say that it is manditory? Let's wait until Daksy gets off his rump and visits this thread.
  4. trafick

    trafick Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Loc:
    Lynchburg, VA
    I know my Allagash doesn't have a sediment trap but the gas line in the basement underneath it that it was tapped from does.
  5. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    I'm off my rump Franks...Nice to feel wanted once in a while!
    We always install them on NG lines, & we put them right after the shut off for the feed to the new appliance.
    This is generally where we change from Black Iron Pipe (BIP) to Corrugated Stainless Steel (CSS),
    but we'll install the tee even if we're continuing on with BIP.
    That way, if you want to see if the trap is getting filled with sediment or moisture, you only hafta stop the
    gas flow to one appliance.
    We don't necessarily install them on LP unless the inspector or the gas supplier specifies it.

    Section 8.5.7 Sediment Trap of The National Fuel Gas Code Handbook (NFGCH) says:

    Where a sediment trap is not incorporated as part of the gas utilization equipment, a sediment trap
    shall be installed as close to the in let of the equipment as practicable at the time of installation...
    Illuminating appliances, ranges, clothes dryers, decorative appliances for installation in vented fire places,
    gas fire places & outdoor grills shall not be required to be so equipped.


    I'll go out on a limb here & call a free-standing stove a gas fire place.
    My interpretation is that the NFGCH indicates it's not required, BUT if it's specified in the manual,
    then it had better be there, ESPECIALLY if the Authority Having Jurisdiction- AHJ (i.e. building inspector)
    is going to inspect the installation...
    YMMV
  6. Fsappo

    Fsappo Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,328
    Loc:
    Central NY
    Thats what I remembered reading. As far as the local code guys go, if they want a trap (and some small towns do) we put em in. I honestly didnt know that the manual suggested it.
  7. Trouthead

    Trouthead Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Loc:
    Wyoming
    I am in a code free area, but I do like to meet code. Always easier to deal with insurance if the house burns down. The Hearthstone manual says there must be a sediment trap. There is no black iron piping in my house only the yellow coated gas line coming from 1 inch (I think) to a manifold with spots for 6 gas lines to come off it. At the terminal point of each line is a small brass valve. From my valve goes the stainless gas line directly to the gas valve on the stove.

    Should I have them come back and put in a sediment trap?
  8. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    I would. It's supposed to be installed correctly & if the manual calls for a sediment trap,
    & there's not one in the line, then it's NOT installed correctly.
  9. Install fire 1

    Install fire 1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Loc:
    Canada.
    Where I am sediment traps are not required for fireplaces, gas logs or decorative appliances.


    Typically where you tie in has some sort of trap existing at the bottom of the run.

    When I re-piped my own house, i built in a dirt pocket on the prefabed manifold i purchased.
  10. trafick

    trafick Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Loc:
    Lynchburg, VA
    If the manual requires a sediment trap and you didn't put one in, would that void the warranty?
  11. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Possibly. The chances of something getting thru the gas line
    & causing a problem other than an interrupted gas flow are pretty slim,
    but they're covering their butts, just in case...
  12. Trouthead

    Trouthead Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Loc:
    Wyoming
    If I decide to do it myself, should I put the trap on the stove itself, or come off the gas valve before it goes into the stainless flex line?
  13. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Put it at the origin of the gas feed for your stove.
    Don't put it under the stove or anywhere you can readily see it.
    They're not too pretty...
  14. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    We have never put them in for fireplaces, never had a problem or a question from an inspector. The inspectors around here don't seem to know anything about fireplaces or gas piping though.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page