1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

No Thermostat connection

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Mabari99, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    I bought a used Whitfield pellet stove on craigslist. It has had problems from the start, one of the main ones being that I know nothing about pellet stoves! It burned real hot at first and would not respond to changes in the settings. So I got on to Uncle Google and found out many things. First, I found a youtube video that shows how to determine the model by getting the serial number. I followed all this and discovered I have a Freestanding Model Advantage II-T C FS. I downloaded the manual and thought, hooray I have found the problem. I found this note at the bottom of the page for installing the wall thermostat - NOTE: If the jumper wire is missing, and you do not have a thermostat installed, your stove will operate on Heat Output position # 1 all the time and at all settings.
    Aha! says I, it is probably missing that damn jumper cable (as I do not have a wall thermostat). So I went to look at the back of the stove, and the diagram that shows the connection at the back of this stove looks nothing like what is at the back of my stove (basically a wire into the stove, no outlet for plug or thermostat). So, I ask myself, and everyone out there, does this model Whitfield stove have to have a thermostat connection or not?
    Meanwhile, the stove now lights fine, but the auger stops feeding after about 45 mins or so. Based on what I have read I have ordered the low limit switch replacement and I intend to try and replace it myself. I'm going by www.butkus.org instructions. Unless someone out there knows some place on the net (or elsewhere) where there are more detailed instructions? Looks like I'll be back to this forum many times for the help of all you good ole timers with your whitfields. Many thanks in advance.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    I also bought one but a insert,im not a pro at these but my thermo connection was on the back of the control board on the bottom.
  3. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Please post a picture of the area on the back of your stove where the power cord goes.
  4. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Hope this picture is OK, sorry for taking so long, but had to do other stuff!
  5. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    Dont see a picture?
  6. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Did it work, I can't see the picture? How do I upload an image?
  7. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    Whitfield.JPG
  8. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    upload file............
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Lower right just below the reply box hit the upload a file button and follow the directions or place the pictures on a photo sharing site and link to them in your reply. .
  10. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    OK think I got it.

    Attached Files:

  11. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Sorry the ID is so unclear (awkward to get at)
  12. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    Look on the back of the control board towards the bottom.take a pic.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  13. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    By control board, do you mean where the heat settings and fan buttons etc are?
  14. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Would you please you post a picture of what is in the stove around that SACC unit.

    Maybe we can find things for you if they exist. With used stoves it isn't unheard of to find out that parts have been removed.
  15. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes from the back.
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    John C. the manual shows a connector on the back of the stove to the side of the power cord it is likely that it and the two yellow wires that went to the controller are missing or inside the shell. Such is the life of a used stove.

    You are doing just fine.
  17. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    Ya my manuel that i downloaded from the internet showed the same thing,but on my digital control board there where two spades with a jumper on them and thats were i hooked up my thermostat,the board might even be labeled not sure.When i remove it on Friday for the new stove I'll double check.
  18. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    YES
  19. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    At this point, I have to pull my stove into a position where I can really get at the back of it and take out the control board which is on the side to see what is on the back. I need some of my friends to help me move this baby, so I'll get back when I get this done. Thanks for all the help so far.
  20. John C.

    John C. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Loc:
    Wethersfield Ct.
    photo(2).JPG The red wire is the thermostat jumper.
  21. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    John C. thanks for your help and interest, I am very appreciative. My control board does not look like this! It is on the side of the stove and to get at the back of it I will have to remove all the knobs and undo some screws to pull it out. Does this sound right?
  22. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,041
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Please post a picture of your stove side panel view where the control panel is.
  23. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Sorry to take so long .. the holidays etc. Here are some pictures - Control Panel on the side. I removed all the buttons and screws and I still could not remove the panel, it has a green circuit board attached to the back. Should I try and get it all out?

    Attached Files:

  24. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Here are some pictures of the back of the stove, sorry that they are all sideways -

    Attached Files:

  25. Mabari99

    Mabari99 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Here's the side of the stove where the control panel is
    The last picture is the air outlet pipe at the wall that attaches to the stove. As you can see it has been reduced from the pipe on the stove by about half. Don't know why.

Share This Page