Noob Here: Who has a pellet in their basement to heat the upstairs?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

OpenWater

Aug 30, 2009
Catskills
And what kind of stove is it?

Firstly, thanks to all who make this forum a great spot for information.

I've got 1500 square feet above my basement, and I'd like to put a pellet in the basement as supplementary heat. I know the word on stoves is to put them in the areas that are frequented and used, but for a bunch of reasons, I can't do that. Been round and around on that one. I am relegated to the basement!

I've read on this forum that people have had success with this arrangement. Please, I'd like to hear from you!

My first choice is a Harman p68. I know all about this stove and that it is a beast. Anyhting else out there that is comparable? What have you had success with?

This is a weekend / vacation home, so use will not be through the roof. Basement is not finished, but it is well-insulated. I'm aware of ciculation isssues and I am confident I can solve that problem.

Thanks for the help,

Chris
I've been around and around on where to put a pellet. I'm settling on the

I have a Enviro Empress FS in my finished basement (400 sf). It will heat my first floor (950 sf) fine...heat runs up the stairway into kitchen area. Second floor also gains from residual heat.
My problem is getting the first floor comfortable without cooking the basement.