Noobe question about cat stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bfunk13

Minister of Fire
Sep 11, 2008
Wyoming
I have been burning my insert for a couple months now and very rarely see any smoke from the chimney.
Tonight i went out for some more wood and noticed more smoke than i have ever seen out of this unit. The stove had run for a few hours and was in the active range.
Actually tonight is probably the hottest and longest we have burned the stove. The cat is glowing hot. It is a bit colder tonight than it has been, does that have something to do with it?
I am burning the DREADED PINE, but it is dry.

Thanks for any replies.

Brad

Attachments

• DSC02840.JPG
    DSC02840.JPG
    17.6 KB · Views: 221
Could it be steam?

If the stove is reducing everything down like it is supposed to (and I see no reason it would not), there will be water created and be in the combustion gases.

Perhaps it is cool enough to condence the water vapor and make it look like smoke. +

Heck even dry wood can have 20% water by weight so we know there will be water vapor from that at least.

I can't see your new stove smoking already, I think it is burning everything to full reduction and it is cold enough that you are seeing the vapor trail.

If it's blue it's smoke, if it's white it's steam, but somstimes it is hard to tell one from the other with out good light. They do steam quite a bit in the early part of a burn in cold weather.