North South East West

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MRJMG

Dec 17, 2007
Monroe Connecticut
i am new to burnign and was wondering does it matter the way you load your insert with wood i heard load it east-west for a all day burn load north-south for shorter hotter burn
i have a quadrafire bodega bay insert

I load my NC-30 North/South when I want a fire and heat. I load it East/West when I want to go through a six pack cussing it and trying to get the wood to burn.

I load my stove east-west because that's the way it's made. My preference is to go through a fine cabernet enjoying the warmth of the wine and fire :)

BeGreen said:
I load my stove east-west because that's the way it's made. My preference is to go through a fine cabernet enjoying the warmth of the wine and fire :)

I can fire off both Jotuls east/west in a heartbeat. I can't burn the 30 that way for squat. I end up turning a pile of half scorched splits around and burning it N/S every time. Glad it is a big firebox so I can grunt, groan and get'em turned.

Yeah, there is many a time when I wished I had that extra working space. But I do like being able to squeeze in those longer splits.

BeGreen said:
Yeah, there is many a time when I wished I had that extra working space. But I do like being able to squeeze in those longer splits.