Not sure if I'm in the right forum...need stove placement advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

newbieinCT

Feeling the Heat
Sep 26, 2013
Danbury, CT
hello everyone,

I'm new to hearth.com and I'm completely overwhelmed. I've looked online and spoken to two different wood stove stores and chimney companies in the area and I"m not getting anywhere. Hoping you guys can help - the pellet/wood stove/fireplace people all want to sell me stuff. If this is the wrong forum, let me know and I'll try and find the right one!!

We recenty bought an old house (c.1900) with some more recent additions (c.1980s) ~2200sq feet. It came with a pellet stove at the far end of the house - it's sitting in front of a fireplace but not in it. Not to code and we need to either put it on the floor (it's sitting on a 18"high brickwall that attaches to fireplace) or get a pellet/wood insert. It's a Kozi MX. We used it 2x and then turned it off until we could learn more.

The house has long and mostly straight layout (from room w/ wood pellet stove --> kitchen --> dining room --> front room. Front room has stairs that go up to 3 small bedrooms. Off the dining room - to the left - is an addition (living room). In the living room is a wood stove. We don't know if it works - we won't light it up because the pipe outside is installed completely wrong AND it's an indoor pipe and rusted.

Our concerns are: