1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Oak Rounds!

Post in 'The Wood Shed' started by Pierre902, Nov 15, 2012.

1. Pierre902

Pierre902 Member

Loc:
    Western MA
    It's about time a posted a few pics of my wood situation. I am working on the next couple years wood and pulled some big white oak rounds out of my back woods this morning. More to come. Hard to exactly know when I will need this wood since this is my first year burning and I still can't guage how much I'll go through. I do know that you can never be too far ahead. At the very least I want to get any fresh rounds split and let them season for at least a couple years. This tree has was on the ground for at least a year but after cutting it, it is still noticably very wet and heavy. The stacks under my deck are mostly oak with some ash mixed in and are going on close to 2 years cut and split. securedownload.jpg securedownload2.jpg securedownload3.jpg

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. corey21

corey21 Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Soutwest VA
    Nice work on getting ahead.
  3. thewoodlands

thewoodlands Minister of Fire

Pierre902, nice work. Just grabbed my first Oak from a small scrounge weeks back, I'm looking forward on burning it in 2-3 years.

Nice Job
    Zap
    Backwoods Savage likes this.
  4. TimJ

TimJ Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Southeast Indiana
    your're definately looking good on the wood Pierre
  5. Bacffin

Bacffin Minister of Fire

Loc:
    30 Miles Northwest of Boston
    I like the fact the stacks are under the deck and nice and close. Welcome to the forum btw. Newbee first year here too!:)
  6. bogydave

bogydave Minister of Fire

Loc:
    So Cent ALASKA
    Very nice stacks.
    Nice set up, ATV & trailer.
    Never have to much fire wood.
    Keep stacking ;)
  7. Boom Stick

Boom Stick Feeling the Heat