Of wood and woodsmen (woodspeople?)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AJS56

Burning Hunk
Mar 5, 2012
Central Lower Mich
Ok... I'm not a prolific poster here. Heck, I'm not even a blip on the posting radar. But I do get on and read a fair amount of the posts, my favorite forum being this - The Wood Shed.

I have and do learn a lot here about harvesting, processing and burning wood, and that alone is more than enough reason to be thankful for this forum and the good folks posting here. But I'm thinking some of my biggest enjoyment comes from the pictures and discussions here, and the fact that to me they represent and remind me of the enjoyment and satisfaction I get from harvesting and processing my fuelwood, the warmth and enjoyment it brings to me and my family over the winter, and knowing that there are others out there who feel likewise.

Like many of you, I really enjoy my time spent in the woods and in the splitting/stacking area. For me it is usually a solo endeavor, with time for solitude and reflection as I catch my breath or just pause to breathe in the fresh crisp air and listen to the faint sound of the breeze through the trees, or maybe spy that rabbit or squirrel doing their daily business off in the distance. It provides exercise that I sorely need and I find it enjoyable - unlike going to the gym.