OIl burner question. Regarding conversion of lines.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mywaynow

Minister of Fire
Dec 13, 2010
Northeast
If I am going from a two line system to a single line, does the return line off the pump just get plugged?

Are you replacing the pump? I'm no expert but that oil from the return line has to go somewhere.

No pump replacement. Going from an underground tank that has the two line system to a single line indoor tank.

I don't know if you can T the return line back into the supply and run it that way or if there is something that must be done to the pump.

Hopefully you'll get better help shortly... ;em

Why are you going from two to one?

If a single line oil furnace runs out of oil, or gets clogged, it will not work again until all the air that has entered the system has been bled out through the pump bleed port manually. One-pipe units are not self-priming. A double line system is so oil removes the air from the lines without any extra effort on your part saving every drop. I have a two line system because my tank is outside, far from the house though.

Maybe some HVAC experts here can shed some light. I only know what I know from having "red light syndrome" a lot and having to blow back the lines, change the nozzle, add pressure to the boiler, etc to keep my house warm pre-wood stove ;)

I am starting to lean that direction and run a second line to the new tanks. Seems to be the easiest and most effective system.