Oil to pellets usage per winter

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PunKid8888

Feeling the Heat
Nov 25, 2008
South East NH
Alright, before and after data needed from home owners heated with a pellet stove last year and Oil fired furnaces before that. This is my first year in my house so unfortunately I have no baseline of how much oil I would have burned through in a year I think it would have been 2.5 tanks or about 687gallons. using this as a baseline I am guessing a ratio of 3.43 or about 2 tons of pellets for 1.25 tanks of oil (275 per tank). I made a little calculator based on this ratio to determine which is more economical with current prices. Officially I have only heated for half a season, at the end of the year I will have a better idea.

So Oil is approximately at $2 a gallon, which means pellets would need to be 3.21 a bag or less (160 a ton) the flip side is currently the pellet price is around here $6 a bag (300 a ton) and oil would need to be $3.74 a gallon. this is all using my ratio yours might be different.

Interesting, but I wanted to get some before and after data from you guys.
oil used in gallons per winter before your stove vs. pellet usage per bag as well as any oil you use even with the pellet stove for a winter.

I know there is a million variables, and I think the more data I have the less it will matter.

Please state is you have your domestic Hot water heated by your oil fired furnace as this will probably skew the data the most.

So lets get some data flowing.