Old Fisher Grandpa meets new guy to wood burning stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

georgiamatt

Dec 4, 2013
Atlanta
Hello all. Great site!
I'm brand new to wood burning stoves and I was just given an old Fisher Grandpa (8" rear exhaust) that I would like to install in my 1,300 sq./ft. bungalow. It's a lot of stove for a small house, but a good friend gave it to me and after placing it on my hearth I love it. I'm having some difficulty in deciding how to run my stove pipe to my existing chimney flue.
My house was built in 1948 and at some point my fireplace was covered up, but not filled in, with rock and mortar and a hearth was built. The back wall had rock and mortar also up to the ceiling and 70" wide. A gas log decorative chimenea looking thing was installed on the hearth with a 7" stove pipe exhausting out of the top of the stove then through the rock and mortar wall/brick and mortar chimney dumping in my 6.5" X 11" terracotta chimney flue. I never was a big fan of this gas burner because it never really provided any heat and took up a large portion of my living room. Then the Fisher came along... It looks great and maybe with some of your guys help I can heat my house this winter.
A few concerns I have are adequate flue size (6.5"X11"), difficulty cleaning out the old fireplace collecting creosote, and the stove exhausting out of the back requiring 3 90* bends preventing a good draft.