Older Jotul 602s versus new EPA compliant models

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Maxwell

Dec 1, 2013
Northwest CT
First of all, I'm new to wood stoves and this forum: Gladtameetcha! I want to put a small wood stove into my small (approx. 675 sq. feet), three-season weekend cabin in the northwest corner of Connecticut. I'm looking to take the chill off in the early spring and and late fall, but the intent is not to heat 24/7 through the depth of winter.
I'm looking to install a Jotul 602 in the corner of the main room (15x12 feet), and clearances are obviously tight. I'll have to build a heat shield in the corner to get under the recommended minimum distance to combustibles.

Here's my question: I understand that newer 602s CBs have a factory installed rear heat shield. Is it possible to install one of these Jotul heat shields on an older 602?
Also, is there any reason I should not go for an older model 602 in this setting, but spend money on new 602CB? I understand the newer, EPA-compliant 602s burn cleaner, but I've also been told they are harder to "throttle down" and burn at a lower rate. Again, this is not for a heavy, heat-intensive application but for occasional use in the fall and spring.
Many thanks in advance.