Online Place to Purchase Pumice Bricks!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dprosper75

Sep 1, 2009
Maryland
One year under my belt with a wood insert (Kodiak 1700) and it wasn't an easy year to figure out burning. Hearth.com was
an excellent resource for me (guess I'm not a newbie anymore)!! In preparing the stove for the upcoming Winter, I have some
concerns on the current Pumice Brick...specifically the ones on the floor. I've read prior posts and have had some clinker-like
material take some of the brick off with it during cleaning. Would anyone know of an online place that would
sell replacement bricks where I wouldn't have to go through the dealer? I wouldn't mind having some extra bricks
on hand just in case.

Thanks......

That question comes up every year. And to date I haven't seen where anybody has found a source other than a dealer. You would think one would have surfaced by now.

And if you do find a source, be aware that all bricks are not created equal. The easiest way I can explain is to "get the bricks that weigh the same as the old ones". Density plays more of a game in some stoves than others.

Thanks a lot. I figured I'd take a shot with all the wealth of knowledge that people contribute on hearth.com

Looks like I'll be calling Enviro!!!

Thanks again!!

Actually on the bottom of the firebox replacing them with normal ceramic firebricks for three bucks apiece should do fine. Good grief, they have a layer of insulating ash on top of them anyway.