Opinions on Harman PF100 Pellet Furnace?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I had a Harman PB105 pellet boiler which I loved once I got it dialed in.

I sold the house. In my new house I went with a Pellergy system that hooks up to a Buderus 4 section boiler.

I sold the house. In my new house I went with a Pellergy system that hooks up to a Buderus 4 section boiler.

And how is that new system with the Buderus compared to the Harmon?

I have no first hand experience with the unit you specifically named but I have had ton's of experience with wood/pellet furnaces in general. I'll offer my comments regarding wood and pellet furnaces as a group.

The fundamental difference between a furnace and a boiler is that once that call for heat has ended, there is absolutely no place for the heat to go except into the steel of the unit itself. This is a matter of simple physics being that air is a poor "absorber" of heat. If you would measure the amount of "heat" a cubic foot of air can hold, compared to the same volume of water, you will find it is a but a small fraction given the same temperature rise.