1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Optional brick set for Quad CB 1200 ?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by cncpro, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. cncpro

    cncpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    NE Connecticut, USA
    Hello,

    I initially saw the brick installation procedure in the manual and it didn't 'click' that they were optional until after I spent a while searching out all the nooks & crannies in my new stove but still couldn't find my bricks...

    So...

    What purpose does the optionalbrick set serve in a Quadrafire CB1200 pellet stove ?

    Is there any advantage to having them or is this just a visual effect like the ceramic logs ?

    Thanks in advance !

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    856
    Loc:
    MA
    Looks.....all about looks......Run it first without them...if you like the looks then don't waste your money. Just something else to remove and clean. You are better off buying a remote thermostat so you can better regulate the on/off on the heat source. I have the same stove and picked up the thermostat cheap on ebay....works like a charm and is not the SMART-BATT-II which will run you $200 plus. Let me know in pm if you want the link to where I bought mine.
  3. cncpro

    cncpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    NE Connecticut, USA
    Thanks Mralias,

    I am not so much about looks. Performance and reliability is all I care about.

    I just picked up a Honeywell digital 7-day programmable thermostat at Lowes. I can't see any reason why it wouldn't work...

    EDIT: I didn't realize what you were getting at initially... You are talking about a wireless remote thermostat that you take from room to room with you, right ? I am not sure I would benefit from a device like that... I am hoping to circulate the air enough to achieve relatively even heating throughout my home governed by a single wall-mounted thermostat.
  4. mralias

    mralias Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    856
    Loc:
    MA
    The one at Lowes will work. I just like running wires to where I want the thermostat placed, that's all.
  5. smg64ct

    smg64ct Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    I have a classic bay 1200 and i have the bricks. I was told by the dealer that you shouldn't run the stove without them.
  6. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Loc:
    CT
    brick kit is decorative and is not need unless you want it for looks.
  7. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    If bricks were needed, it would come with them.
  8. TboneMan

    TboneMan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    252
    Loc:
    Central NY
    The bricks definitely improve the looks of the interior. They probably do offer some additionat heat retention (between cycles for quicker convection fan activation).

    I also bought the log set. BIG MISTAKE!!!

    I used it for about two weeks and pulled it because they were a pain to clean and they caused the windows to "ash up" quicker.

    I put logs back in for the summer for ascetics. I'll pull them before firing it back up in the fall.
  9. Twinsmom

    Twinsmom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Yes, please tell us where you got it
  10. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,563
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    The Lux TS-1500u (Programmable or Full Manual T-Stat) from Lowes is made for wood pellet stoves with the "Swing Setting" from 1 - 9 at 1/4 Deg increments. I set the Swing to 8 which is 2 deg f. This will keep your quad from Short Cycling! That means always going On and Off. When I set my stove to 70 with the swing of 8 the stove will go on at 68 Deg F and off at 72 Deg F. It seems to work better that way. :)

Share This Page