Options To Use With Existing Hydronic Baseboard Heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bk1

Oct 5, 2015
WI
I just moved to a place that has some land with it. The house has an oil LP boiler system to feed the hydronic baseboard heating system.

I'm trying to figure out what my options are for at least supplementing with wood heat. I'm very new to all this so I have a lot to learn. I had seen a fair amount of outdoor wood boilers within a 1hr radius from my house so I thought those were worth looking into. My biggest issue there is that it seems like you are committed to having that thing burning the whole winter. I am hoping to find a solution where I can use it as I am able to supplement with wood heat but not have to keep it fed 24x7.

Is there a indoor wood burning boiler system that I can tie into my existing LP boiler system? Even if that is the case I need to figure out if I can find a good spot inside to fit it, determine if my existing chimney can also be used for it etc.

If those two solutions aren't a good fit then I guess my only choice is at least one fireplace/wood stove. I am still trying to figure out a good central place to put it though that makes logistical sense. I will probably end up getting one for a four seasons room that we have an possibly for the basement family room that we are looking to put in. But, if there is no good option to tie in to our existing hydronic system then I will have to figure out a good place on the main level for one.

Thanks for the help!