Osburn 1600 insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Carto

Nov 7, 2007
PA
Hello all... I'm fairly new to my Osburn 1600 insert (burned it for three seasons). It is an early 1990's model and from what I can tell a non-cat EPA stove. It is being used as a free-standing unit with 6 feet of interior flue exposed to a roughly 700 sq. ft. shop.

I was considering adding a flue damper to this setup and before doing so, wanted to get input from other Osburn owners on this subject. Have others added a flue damper and has it improved your burn times and heating capabilities? I have been unable to find results using dampers with Osburn units.

Many swear by using dampers to improve overall heating and further control their stoves output. Would their be any adverse affects to adding a flue damper to my setup?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks.

Paging Elk to the Code offenders room!

Thanks Velvetfoot for your response.

To expain further and provide more details: