Out Door Wood Boiler vs indoor EPA Wood Stove (which is better?)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

roknwoe

Jan 22, 2012
Wisconsin
For all the OWB guys out there, please do not take offence at the following.

I am new to the Hearth forum. I have researched OWB's in trying to make a future decision about some day about abandoning a 32 year old bullet proof indoor WoodChuck wood furnace in favor of an OWB.

I would appreciate others clarifying any mis-understandings I might have on OWB's in general.

Here it is:
--I heard a number of $8-$10,000 OWB's only last 10 years or less.
--Other understood disadvantages: Internal corrosion issues, stress cracking of the steel, OWB consume maybe 50% more wood than an indoor EPA or
non-EPA wood furnace? This means: more wood buying, cutting, hauling, piling, loading more wood into the OWB each time.
--The good stuff: The fire danger, bugs, dust, is now outside! No more chimney fires/cleaning on the roof of your house. The wood pile is right next to
the OWB. (a big advantage, no more hauling wood into the house).

--Here is the assumption/conclusion: A hell of a lot of money for something that does not last very long, in addition to the maintenance, water testing,
installation, digging 4+ foot deep trenches for the PEX, etc.).