Outdoor boiler only....wood selection

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

btammo

Jan 3, 2008
Southern Tier NY
Heres a couple questions.

What wood is best for you?
Do you burn green or seasoned wood?
Which lasts longer and do they produce the same amount of heat?
Do you find that bigger chunks last longer in the firebox than a bunch of smaller pieces?

I have been experimenting to find the best loads. I am new to the outdoor wood boiler and am trying to be as efficient as I can with the wood.

Thanks

Welcome to the Boiler Room, btammo. What kind of boiler do you have?

As a general rule, you're always ahead with dry wood compared to green or wet. That's because the moisture has to be converted to steam to exit the system, and converting water to steam takes a lot of extra energy. And it's all going up the stack, unused, in the form of steam.

As for wood type, denser hardwoods are better than softwood or less dense hardwoods. You can't always tell by weight if the wood is green, as some non-dense hardwoods (black cherry and poplar, for example) contain a lot of water when green. When the wood is dry, the heavier chunks are the denser ones. Since you're in the Southern Tier, I'd try to stick with as much red and white oak, hard maple, hickory, beech and black locust as possible. Try to stay away from soft maple, black cherry, poplar basswood, etc.

With most stoves and boilers, bigger wood lasts longer but doesn't burn as hot. Most of us have a mixture that we try to use to its highest potential.