overfire or chimney fire? eek

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NSDave

Dec 29, 2011
Halifax NS Canada
So I was burning the stove down to get my bed of coals going from a cold start; I'm still learning this stove and wood burning, so I figured I'd try for a longer burn; I added an extra split; shut the bypass damper and left the air open to let the wood char; walked upstairs for 10 minuets or so, and came back to a roaring fire and stove tops 800+(ir gun ; i can't remember the extact temp ) and my magnetic pipe thermo well into the danger zone.

There was a roaring noise, but this stove seems to do that when it draws anyway, no sparks or soot outside no flames shooting out the chimney; I opened the damper and the door to get some heat out then shutdown the air,( I need a new door gasket ) and things slowly quieted down. Overall the whole thing probably took 15-20 minutes from panic to cooling off. I can live with the overfire, a chimney fire is a whole other matter.

After reading up on this site; I think I reloaded too soon in the cycle, I should have let things cool down for another half hour or so. So I've learned something..

Chimney is being swept next week..
Any thoughts.

Thanks
Wearing my spare pants now!

Any flames coming out the chimney? I was just thinking it has been a while that since somebody wrote in with soiled undergarments.