Overfiring Insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cpop

Sep 18, 2007
CT
Newbie here. I read in the manual about the dangers of overfiring my insert and that it will not be covered under warranty if I do so. Dumb question; how do I know if I over fire my stove? When I start a fire how long should I wait until closing the damper a bit? Is 30-40 minutes too long? Today, about 30 minutes after lighting the fire I heard a loud noise come from the stove, not sure if I heat it up to quickly. Any input from the more 'seasoned' burners here would be much appreciated.

Depending on the stove, usually the best guidance you will have is if you can put a thermometer on the stove. What stove make and model is this?

A loud noise from a new steel stove can happen as it warms up.

Yeah. Cute stunt the stove makers pull and it pisses me off no end that they don't tell what overfiring of their stove is. Rule of thumb for a steel stove is 700 degrees stove top temperature. Five to six hundred is a good target to shoot for for efficient burning. EPA or non-EPA stove. Most manuals say that if something is glowing then you are over-firing. Well that is around 1,100 degrees. Don't go there, don't do that.

They omit any temps to dodge warranty claims plain and simple. Easy to say "You over fired it.". And I invite them to get on the Forum and say otherwise and give specific temps for their stoves. They built'em. They test'em. Tell us about it.