oxygen control for garn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TCaldwell

Minister of Fire
I have been working on putting the puzzle together for about 18 months, but i think it has finally proved out. I am able to control the combustion process in the garn so as to maintain a desired o2 percent in the fluegas. Ideal combustion of wood takes place at an excess air between 1.4 and 1.6. The oxygen percentage in the fluegas will equate to 7.5% with a corresponding co2 of 13%. this comes from chapter 6 ,the theory of wood firing pages 30,31,32, out of the wood for energy production. In order to achieve this i sealed off the existing combustion air inlet, fabricated fixed overlapping coverplate over the existing door hole. i installed 2 air inlets side by side in the bottom of the coverplate, one for primary and one for secondary air. now the inducer pulls air from the new inlets, the balance of the door hole opening has a hinged gasketed positive latching loading door. Unfortunately this is smaller than i would have wanted,it works without cutting into the garn. I fixed the coverplate to the garn by drilling and tapping into the aircollar. after measuring the cfm flow of the original setup i calculated that 4 inch round ducting connected to the new primary and secondary combustion air inlets would suffice.On the inside of the firebox i ducted the primary to the firebox floor and the secondary at the top of the firebox, essentially where they are stock.The 2 four inch ducts on the outside of boiler have modulating dampers, the primary controlled by a scaled co2 signal and the se