P68 Low draft check/set

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

timbo

Oct 9, 2009
Concord area, NH
Hi Folks,

Well the P68 has been running for a week now...everything seems to be working to textbook conditions (still no pics yet...sorry).

I guess at this point, because I have zero experience with a pellet stove and what everything should look like, flame, et al, I am at the mercy of pictures of "normal" running stoves....mine matches those pictures very closely so I assume I'm doing OK.

One thing I've been wondering about though and I've looked around on the forum for any information but couldn't find any.

There is a section in my user manual that mentions a low draft check and adjustment using a "Draft Meter" that only a dealer is supposed to have.

Is this something I need to be concerned about? Is there a way that a layperson can check this without that aforementioned meter? Should I have a dealer tech come out and check it as a general rule?

All thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

no, its fine... i've never had an issue w/ a harman drafting properly, and it sounds like yours is.

Thanks summit. I won't concern myself with it then.

On my Harman P-38 (manual ignition) I had to turn the low draft adjustment down to the minimum as I was having a hard time lighting pellets. It`s a breeze to start now and the stove runs excellent.