P68/Should the stove glass get this dirty this quick?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jbmaine

Apr 4, 2009
USA
Hi all, Sorry if this is a completely novice question but I've only been running my stove for a couple of weeks and I'm still learning what is normal for pellet stoves. I know stove glass gets dirty ( I've seen pics people have posted) but I'm wondering if this dirty this fast is OK. As you can see the glass has quite a "smoked" pattern on it, also the side of the stove has some discoloration. Don't know if their related. The glass cleans up real easy with a wet paper towel but the "smoked pattern comes back after 3-4 hours of burning. I can see it grow and the pattern is the same every time. Should I be having to clean the glass every day? So far I have mostly been using the stove in stove temp settings, running the smallest fire I can ( just to take the chill out of the house) Could this be a contributing factor? I am burning Okanagans.
IMG_1795400x300.jpg

The camera flash makes the "smoked pattern" look white but it is really a brown color
Thanks for your help
JB

Seems normal to me if you are burning low heat fires.

The glass gets dirtier, quicker, when you operate the stove on low setting. Try at a higher setting maybe to compare....