Paid for a full cord of "seasoned" oak...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ianb42

Nov 5, 2008
NJ
It stacked up alright, but after the guy dumped it and left I noticed that about half of it felt like it was just cut and split last week!

It feels damp and there are no checks or cracks in the ends of the splits.
This is my first year burning wood, but im pretty sure i got bamboozled.

I paid 180.00 which is about the average price I suppose in NJ.

I have some 3/4 seasoned ELM that I can burn. I was wondering if it was worth it to split the oak into smaller pieces and mix it with the elm once my stove is nice and hot. Or just stack it with the rest of my "next winter" wood.

I know burning unseasoned wood is a big no-no. But I was hoping not to have to spend any more money on it this winter. Work is really slow and money is tight.. :-S