PE Summit Possible Overfire Problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Zzyk

Oct 24, 2008
schoharie county ny
I think I might be running my new PE Summit too hot, but I'm not sure. I've never used a new EPA stove before and I'm a bit confused. I can get a decent fire going, maybe half a load or a bit less on top of the coals. I keep the air high until the flue temp hits 400-500 and the wood chars nicely. Then I start cutting back the air and the problems begin... The stovetop temperature starts rising and, even with the air all the way down, will hit 800+. At the same time the flue temp drops down. I'm worried about really loading the stove since there seems to be no way to slow it down once it takes off. I could cut the are back earlier, but then I'd be concerned about creosote (I've always run a hot flue, 400-500 doesn't even seem hot enough to me).

Anyway any advice is greatly appreciated

Chris

You're doing ok, the stove is tough and likes to heat. You might try using larger splits and cutting the air back a little earlier. The stove will get hot as the wood outgases and secondaries take off, but with a little experimenting, you should be able to drop the surface temps about 100 degrees. Here's a recent run in our T6 that graphs stack and stove top temps. The Summit is the same stove at heart.

As far as creosote goes, if you are burning dry wood in an EPA stove with 400-500 stack temps, you are going to be surprised how clean your stack is.

Attachments

• PET6-graph.jpg
    PET6-graph.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 459