PE SUMMIT

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 17, 2011
Bar Harbor, Maine
How many of you purchased a fan with the Summit? I've been using mine now for two months. I leave the fan on auto at medium level. Rarely does the temp on the top baffle go above 500 degrees. So this morning I decided to run it at "H" with the fan OFF. Bingo! Temp on the baffle got up to 550F really quickly. Of course, as soon as I put on the fan, the temp dropped back to about 400. Still lots of secondary burning.

i got a fan with my summit two seasons ago...when the repates were high. i haven't started it yet this year and been using the small Jotul upstairs for the most part. probably going down in the basement and starting it today. when running, i leave the fan on high all the time. i have to relook at my fan install as sometimes it takes quite awhile to come on and as long to sometimes turn off. i leave it on because it helps circulate the air through the house and the basement heat is much more even (translates to tollerable) when its running. While a good stove, it is in my opinion a little finniky and not my favorite stove that i've burned over time. does have a relatively big burn box which helps it run longer. i keep my drafts medium to low most of the time. seldom run it on high, plus i have a damper in my 6" single wall that helps control the burn too.

cass