Pellet comparison

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ajwoodman

Aug 6, 2008
Me
I cannot believe there can be such a difference in pellets. Newbie here, first year of burning pellets and I must say I was a little disappointed in the output of heat from my Big E. I have burnt about 8 bags of pellets with a whole lot of ash. My window gets really sooty and dirty daily. I purchased three tons of Athens pellets back in June. They are all nicely stacked down in my basement. What a disappointment. Where I work we are selling Lignetics. I bought three bags, and decided to check out any differences. Let me tell you, I cleaned the stove, loaded with two bags of Lignetics. It has been burning since 7:00 last night. I have it on thermostat so it ran on #1 setting basically all night. The window is nice and clean, hardly any ashes and the heat output is AWESOME. #1 setting feels like the #3 with the Athens pellets. And the #3 setting will blow you away. Wow, wish I hadn't done that. I think maybe I will try to mix them. What does anybody think???? I never would have guessed there could be such a difference. Live and Learn.
I think I will check out other pellet brands too (for future purchases). Any body have any favorites???

Yes as you can now attest, pellets are not all equal.

My top five faves (not necessarily in this order) are:

Cleanfire
Barefoot
Lignetics
Stove Chow
NEWP - green lettered bag

The reason these five are my favorites are because
they throw a lot of heat and burn cleaner than other
brands I've tried which were (LG Granules, Bio Plus, Energex, and Dry Creek).