1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Pellet insert, Educate me please :)

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by iron stove, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. iron stove

    iron stove Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    Central CT
    Well, I have burned pellets for 10 years, and own a new P-43.

    But my brother bought his first house, and has had Oil SHOCk this winter. He has a fireplace opening, with what the chimney sweep called a Heatilator ( metal lined with vents to side of chimney to try to increase efficency)
    He is debating a pellet insert. He has a 31.5 W by 27 tall opening, 24 deep. He most likly CANNOT afford new. But looking for maybe a used p-35, OR suggestions on another brand that is reliable with most pellets, easy to service and parts availability, NEED SUGGESTIONS !!

    Also, does CT code require a liner pipe in his chimney ( Type cost, its a cape, so 2 story chimney)

    Adding a picture of the fireplace ::)

    [​IMG]

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

  3. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    Remember you get what you pay for. That being said sometimes you hit a homerun on the used market.

    my .02
    Eatonpcat and DexterDay like this.
  4. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Just about any unit will fit in the opening but the damper on those heatilators is tough. I suspect a saws all will win the battle for him though.
  5. john193

    john193 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    A liner is necessary. Single wall stainless steel will do just fine. I'm guessing your brother will need at least 25 feet, go with a 4 inch diameter pipe. Have you tried Craigslist for used stoves?
  6. relxn88

    relxn88 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Loc:
    Ma.
    It would be cheaper to buy and install a used stand-alone stove. You could use the fireplace when the electricity goes off or whenever you just want use it. Heatilator fireplaces are 40% efficient as compared to regular fireplaces at 10% .
    Just my 2cents.
  7. iron stove

    iron stove Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    Central CT
    Have a Sawzall, so yes I can chop it up ! Assume clean air would be through the flue also ???
  8. iron stove

    iron stove Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    Central CT
    Any clue how much $$ for 4"x25' stainless pipe ???

    Yes, see a bunch of used stoves on craigslist.
  9. Defiant

    Defiant Vermont Castings Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Loc:
    Old Lyme CT
    $240 and up for good quality:cool: with cap/top plate and term
    Eatonpcat, DexterDay and smoke show like this.
  10. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    A useful post. I knew you had it in ya.
  11. stovelark

    stovelark Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Hey Iron stove can prob find a nice used insert (steel frames about 1200-2000, depending on mfr and features). You didn't mention heat requirements..?? But sounds like you want a 35-40Kbtu stove. Good choices Quad Castille, Harman Accentra,
    Enviro Empress, Milan or EF3. Breckwell p23/24 good choices too. The 25 ft Liner kit- expect about 400-500 depending where/whom you buy it from. I'd suggest 4 inch definitely with 4 in cleanout tee on stove if possible. (some stoves won't accommodate one) Good hunting, careful on the roof and seal the top plate/cap good the first time.
  12. Evan_J

    Evan_J Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Loc:
    Southern NH
    You might get lucky dealing with the damper in your Heatilator. We've been told in the past by the guys that serviced our chimney (pre-Harman) that our fireplace was a Heatilator. In our case the damper was mounted on the top of the flue and was cable operated. Removal was quick and painless.
  13. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    dont forget, you'll likely need a ZC box if ya stick a harman in there
  14. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    No you wont. The thing is all masonry and steel...or I maybe wrong cause I cannot see inside that thing
  15. iron stove

    iron stove Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Loc:
    Central CT
    What is that ?
  16. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Zero Clearance enclosure. Harman makes a ZC enclosure for installing their inserts in a framed wall. You won't need one in your install.
    Defiant likes this.
  17. mik_kane

    mik_kane Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    200
    Loc:
    NEPA Poconos
    If you are installing an insert into a masonry flue, do you have to run a flue liner to the top? I have seen diagrams were they just show a liner running into the flue.
  18. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    depends on your local building code
  19. john193

    john193 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    932
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    As stated, that depends on your local code. In my area, you are required to go all the way to the top.
  20. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Same here in MA
  21. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,158
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    I have seen installations with the short change liner into the flue. Sure they work fine until the chimney flue gets all plugged up with pellet ash. Then cleaning is not as simple as running a 4" diameter brush up a full liner to the top. You have quite a mess and that is if the old clay liner does not crack, but it will eventually!

    Point of this story, a 4" diameter full length liner to the top is the best way to go!

    Here is the standard Old Style Heaterlator design shown below:
    The bottom vents pull in room air and the top vents return the heated air like the diagram shows.

    Click pic to Enlarge

    Attached Files:

  22. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    someone above mentioned "using a sawzall" to cut the old enclosure out....if they do, you WILL need a ZC box
  23. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    No I meant to cut the top of the damper. Depending how critical the bend in the liner will be passing through, in the past I have had to notch out the damper overhang to create better vertical rise. You don't want to zig zag up and over if it is a real tight squeeze. But yes, one may have to do a z box if you cut out the enclosure...that is a lot of work and a job I might pass on depending upon the thickness of the metal fab.
  24. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,008
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    short change liner in a flue is called a damper install or damper termination install
  25. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,158
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    The damper is already installed in the chimney, so how about "short liner install using a damper termination" :)

Share This Page