Pellet OR Wood?? need some pro/cons

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

yamikidr1

Oct 28, 2013
PA
Just like the title says it's up in the air yet which to go with. Looking at a Harman P43 or a TL 2.0 which is more efficient and easier to maintain. My parents have a pellet stove in the basement which has been flawless for 6 years which has me heading in that direction, but want to keep an open mind. I have a 92+ nat gas forced hot air so I am not looking for a savings just the looks/feel. I will be installing myself as I do HVAC for a living. House is a 6 year old 1850sqf 2 store in PA.

Well if you don't need it for heating your home I would go wood stove. That way in case of power outage you would still have heat without using a generator to power a pellet stove

Oh and installing pellet stoves is easy

<------installed by a secretary and a truck driver. :cool:

Reactions: newbieinCT
For looks wood stove if there are no other factors.

Other factors to consider:
- saving $ off heating bill
- can u find free wood?
- Wood is more messy
- Pellet u have to do more maintenance and clean out more often
- Do u have the room to install stove flue?

Prob a few more things, but those are some to consider.

For looks wood stove if there are no other factors.

Other factors to consider:
- saving $ off heating bill
- can u find free wood?
- Wood is more messy
- Pellet u have to do more maintenance and clean out more often
- Do u have the room to install stove flue?

Prob a few more things, but those are some to consider.