1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

pellet overloads

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Momocarver, Jan 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Momocarver

    Momocarver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Loc:
    Eastern Maine
    I jave a St. Croix Auburn corn stove that kept overloading it's burnpot and going out. Because of this I changed to pellets. My damper is wide open. The stove does the same thing. Any suggestions?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,383
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    My first thought is some blockage in the flue system somewhere - this would mean less air flow though the burn pot, and so the pellets would back up and overload. We had one member here who ended up finding a nest of mice in his venting system, and that was backing it up!

    So first things are to make certain your air intake (outside air?) and vent system (pipe PLUS your internal smoke passages) are completely clear.

    There are other possibilities - how long have you had the stove? How exactly is it installed?

    Make certain the burn pot is properly installed and positioned. There may be a spec for setting up the stove (draft gauge)....
  3. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Is it working fine with pellets?

    See my PM
    can you Past my PM to you.
    THE PM system will not let me get to my SENT PM messages
    WHY IS THAT, WEB?
  4. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,383
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Rod, sent messages are not kept unless you check the little box when you sent them....but if they are there and you cannot get to them??? I suspect the box may be full or something like that. But I did allow quite a bit of room in the PM - I'll enlarge it a bit and see if that helps.
  5. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    never noticed the Check box.
    I found it thanks
  6. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    In your Pm you said you have 3 feet of vertical then 3 feet of horizontal.

    That venting might be one problem
    3 feet of horizontal pipe is more that I feel comfortable with especially with out a vertical run after it.
    Is the horizontal pipe have a 1/4 rise per foot?
  7. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    im reposting after I reread your PM

    your pm
    are you trying to say you have 3 feet out the wall a 90 deg elbow then up 3 feet?
    or
    you have 3 feet up from the stove then an 90 elbow and 3 feet out vertical out the wall?

    ither way I dont like the 3 feet vertical and there needs to be a T clean out where it goes up and not a 90 elbow.

    your elbow will plug up fast with corn
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page