Pellet prices

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

livefreeordie

Nov 21, 2010
Rochester, NH
My local lowes guy said that in the next week or two pellet prices will increase as the gas and oil prices jump. He said don't be surprised to see pellets jump to $5 a bag. This is my first year with a pellet stove so i don't know what the prices were last year or the year before. Any of you seasoned guys know if this is true or is it just another sales pitch?

Could be... why would a retailer sell for less than the market will bear?

Thats kind of the way the it goes. When One form of heat rises, The others tend to follow. We have seen pellets at well over $300 a ton. I have seen some places getting $7.50/bag.

Glad I got my multifueler as I can burn what ever is the most frugle for me. These prices were to good to be true and I was betting they would rise. Just hope they stay low a bit longer. I'd like to get enough to finish this season and next.

Well i guess i'll have to buy more pellets this week. Thanks for the input.

I was 'this close' to the SIH plant last night... and i had room on my trailer for two tons... but I had a delivery appt to make so I went without!

livefreeordie said:
Well i guess i'll have to buy more pellets this week. Thanks for the input.

Good idea...

I'm going to need a bigger garage or my summer car needs to get out to make room for more pellets :)