Pellet Selection - New England Pellets?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mmckee83

Sep 24, 2012
As I have described in another thread I am new to the pellet and pellet stove world. Hopefully in the next week or so we will have made our pellet stove decision????Hopefully, never would have thought that making a decision on one would be this difficult???? As everyone says, a stove is only as good as the pellets you give it. There are a lot of choices out there many bad and many good, I understand that it is all trial and error but there are some that are just bad ( the cheap ones at Lowes, Home Depot, etc.).

Our local Ace Hardware sells New England Wood Pellets as there is a plant right here in our county. I have talked to someone that uses them and they said that they have worked very well for them. Does anyone else have any insight on New England wood pellets or any others that are good and what ones to steer clear of? I would like to stay in the $225 - $250 per ton cost range if possible. I don't know if pellet brands vary depending on your location but I am located in upstate New York, South of Albany.

Thanks for the advise.........

New England wood pellets(NEWP) are the same as Warm Front and the Green Supreme's your seeing at the box stores. Just in different bags to confuse us and keep the NEWP dealers from complaining.