Pellets and ash seem to be piling up

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

glen1971

Nov 19, 2014
Pincher Creek, Alberta
I'm relatively new to the pellet world and have a question about my PC45...

It seems to be heating quite well but occassionally when I look inside the ash and burnt pellets doesn't seem to be moving off the burn pot into the ash can. It seems to be piling up and gets about 1 1/4" or a little deeper. When I scrape it into the ash can there are some pellets in the pile that aren't burnt all the way..

I have been adjusting the feed rate with each bag, to try and get the best burn out of them.. Usually I run it around 2 with adjustments around 1/4 to 1/2 and the room temp around 70. I'm burning wood pellets exclusively..

Is this a normal thing to keep and eye on? Or am I missing something with how I'm running it?

Thanks for your help!

and burnt pellets

What is a burnt pellet? If you mean a pellet that has not burned all the way to ash then I suggest you have an issue though not a major one. 1. Clean clean clean the stove and venting to make sure you are getting the proper air flow. 2. Try a different type of pellet to see if you get the same results. As far as adjustments on the PC45, I don't know that stove so I can't help you there. I'm sure others will chime in. 3. when you complete the above tasks report back so we can all learn. Good luck and welcome!

Thanx for the replies...