Personal pellet mill advice please.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TheDeicide

Feb 24, 2015
Pennsylvania
I've searched around and not found much. I'm not very good at searching forums apparently because I'm sure this has been talked about before.

Myself and two friends were discussing the possibility of getting our own mill to take care of our own heating needs. I would like input from others who are familiar with it to give some advice on what to look for and avoid on a good product. Even links to other discussions and articles would be great.

Reactions: Deezl Smoke
I think you will find that this endeavor will be a lot more difficult and expensive than you realize. Unless you plan on making ALOT and selling the surplus, you’re much better off buying pellets, even at their current inflated price.

It may be easier to grow corn around your house and burn it. I'm considering doing that. A bag of seed corn is about $250 approx. An acre will produce 200+ bushels'. Shellers can be found fairly cheap at auctions.....
not having to mow grass......priceless.

Reactions: jackman
They are running around $270 a ton right now and typically in February they start limiting you to ten bags per day because of shortages. There are 3 of us currently using around 18 tons per year combined and two others using around 10 tons, so as a group it might break even in year one but save in future years. I'm building a new home over the next 18 months and plan to use primarily pellets for heat so the usage will likely go up. Worse case we break even each year and don't have to deal with shortages.