Picking up Harbour Freight 20 ton splitter by myself. How much do the heaviest pieces weigh inside?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
I heard that the whole box is 440lbs. I'm getting it put on a trailer but I'm worried about unloading it.

Its pretty heavy.. the beam is whole so your going to need to move that and the other heavy piece is the motor, pump and hydrologic tank. Thats one unit.. i dont know how old you are or what shape your in, but you may need a friend or 2..

Reactions: Todd67
They're so heavy that I would never buy one in a crate. I'm talking about 22 ton splitters in general. I have no experience with the Harbor Freight splitter.

As mentioned already, you will need some help assembling it, at least two friends to left, and hold things in place while the third person bolts things together.

Man, i sure wouldn't do that. I'd have them assemble it and tow it home proper. Or buy one from Tractor Supply that's already assembled. The price isn't much different.

When I bought my Iron & oak 20ton, the hardware store loaded the crate onto my trailer, I put the splitter wheels together on the trailer then rolled it off the trailer and did the rest of the stuff in the garage

I bought a 22 ton Dirty hand tools splitter it was unloaded by truck in my driveway. The beam was quite heavy but not not impossible to move by yourself. If I had to do it again I would buy from tractor farm supply fully assembled with fluids.

Reactions: TreePointer