Pipe damper setting question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

2broke2ride

Burning Hunk
Dec 23, 2014
Townsend MA
Do any of you with old non EPA stoves run your pipe damper fully closed? This is my first year with my old Shenandoah and I have been struggling to get what I consider enough heat for the amount of wood I'm going through. So tonight while playing around with it in frustration I closed the pipe damper all the way and turned the thermostatic draft up to 3/4 ( I normally run the pipe damper 1/2 and the thermo at 1/2 to get exterior single wall pipe temps of around 450 to 550) closing the damper got my stove too temp up to 700 while maintaining about 450 on the pipe.
This is the first time I have used stove top temps. With my old setting my stove top was only running like 50-100 degrees hotter than the pipe.
So is running with the damper closed ok? Btw this stove has no baffles or anything in it, just a steel box with a pipe hooked too it.

It might be ok if you have tons of draft are you taking the pipe temp before or after the damper?

Pipe temp is after the damper............ So far this stove seems to burn through a crap load of wood for the amount of heat I get out of it............ Tonight was the first time since I started in October that I really felt like she was throwing the heat she should.

Well it is an old stove it is going to burn through allot of wood but if you can keep the pipe temp up that high after the damper with it closed all the way go for it but i would check the stack often till you are sure it is working ok