pipes frozen

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ironspider

Feeling the Heat
Nov 13, 2013
Flanders, NY
Please help me,

due to my relentless burning of wood to save on oil, this last night of single digits has frozen my pipes according to slomins.

i have a two story home with two zones, zone 1 is the main floor where the wood burning insert is so that didn't go on all night. My house sits on a 3 foot crawl space, most pipes are accessible. I have most pipes covered with insulation.

I went down in the crawl space with a friend, I have a torch and a 1350 degree heat gun, we heated every pipe we can find and still no joy. I'm afraid tonights single digit temps will worsen the prob and burst a pipe. I've been working at this for hours, please give me some ideas.

I need help!!!

Can you put a heat source in the crawl space? Nothing that puts out CO, electric or something. Doesn't need too much.

Reactions: Ehouse
I have an electric ceramic space heater, I can't imagine that would heat that large area, it's got to be 1300 sq ft

I have an electric ceramic space heater, I can't imagine that would heat that large area, it's got to be 1300 sq ft

If that's the trouble spot you just need to keep it above freezing and block any airflow.

First, you need to open every faucet in the house, all the showers, flush the toilets, etc.

It can take a while. I used to defrost a lot of pipes with the portable welding machine, but I guess plumbers must have their own version now or something because I haven't done one in 30 years at least.