Please educate me on come-alongs

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tonelover

Sep 15, 2009
Southern NH
Novice here, working on cutting down some pines that are quite safely away from any structures. I do however run the likely risk of the tops getting caught in the canopy on the way down. I'm working on small to medium sized trees, maybe diameters up to 16" or so, and want a come along to help when something does get stuck. I just don't know what to look for when purchasing one. 2 ton, 5, ton, cable, rope. Basically I just want a casual user level but strong and safe system that will allow me up to about 100 feet of length so I can ensure being safely away. Any information would be appreciated.

I have four come-alongs, three with cable and one with chain. The chain one is a commercial one, courtesy of Bell Atlantic, and my favorite to use. It only has about 12 feet of chain, which is fine... I always use heavy tow straps to make extend it for long runs.

The chain one is very nice for several reasons:

1. No cable to get bound-up on the drum.
2. I never skin my knuckles or catch a "meat hook" when using it. (Meat hooks are frayed strands of cable)
3. It works the same in both directions, so it's as easy to let out as pull in.
4. It has a freewheel mechanism, similar to any cable type.
5. The handle is repositionable to any angle.
6. It's capacity is WAY beyond any cable type I've seen.