1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Please Help: New Installation of P61A and Experiencing a Lot of Smoke

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by pellet_neophyte, Jan 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pellet_neophyte

    pellet_neophyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    I thought it looked like a lot of ash, too. Thank you for that validation. Really, it helps so much. The feed adjuster is currently set to 3. The stove temp dial is currently between L and H.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Raven20

    Raven20 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Loc:
    Baltimore
    Have you ever seen a blow torch? It should look similiar to that.....
  3. crausch

    crausch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    747
    Loc:
    Littlestown, PA
    I think in the cold weather we are having, 3 for the feed adjuster will be too low. Your pellets are burning up quicker then they are feeding. Leaving the large lip of ash. You should have close to 1" ash at the top but not pushing unburnt pellets over the edge. Bump it up as cac4 mentions. When more pellets get in there, the flame will get more active, and you should see less ash in the burn pot. Cac4 describes the flame just as mine is. Some blue flame at the bottom and a very active white/yeelow flame above (No black tips or soot).
  4. tinkabranc

    tinkabranc Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641
    Loc:
    South Coast MA
    After seeing these pics....

    Two things that come to mind for me after seeing these pics
    is to be sure to scrape the burnpot good to keep ALL the holes
    clear of clinkers.

    If you are confident the burnpot is clean, kick up the feed rate
    to 4 and see if that makes the difference. That's alot of ash for
    a short time.
  5. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    2 things seal the joints as everyone else has said AND seal the TEK screws too.......
    You should not have smoke smell in the house unless you open the front door......
    and also covered here the first joint (the starter collar) is the most likely one to leak

    First pics the flame looked like it was burning strong.....
    last pics it's a little lazy but not too too bad.....
    there IS ot of ash in the burn pot...
    When the ash builds up like that you should see holes in the pile of ash, kinda like swiss cheese. From the pics I don't see any.
    This Usually means one of 2 things......
    1 stove is dirty.... Not likely..
    2 airflow problem......... restriction in pipe, not draft adjusted, air intake restricted...
    Harmans have a flapper gate on the intake of the stove... sometimes they get stuck.....
    If that is the Harman thimble make sure the felt has been removed from the fresh air side....
  6. cac4

    cac4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Loc:
    Essex County, MA
    with the earlier pic of the outside air duct all frosted up like that, it would seem that there is plenty of airflow. But it certainly can't hurt to check. I've heard of other "professional installers" who forgot to take the plug out of that thimble. I suppose some air might get through that felt, if you sucked hard enough.
  7. pellet_neophyte

    pellet_neophyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Did a real quick scrape of the burnpot and here's the flame now:
    [​IMG]
  8. bungalobob

    bungalobob Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Loc:
    central ct
    Wow! There was a burnpot under all that ash. Looks a lot better. I usually do that about twice a day, more if the pellets are bad. Did you also scrape at the hard deposits in the burnpot. That has to be removed as well. Within no time you'll be a pro.
  9. pellet_neophyte

    pellet_neophyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Because of two very cranky kids that needed to get to bed, we did a very quick scrape. We also do not yet have a great tool for scraping. Recommendations? TIA
  10. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
  11. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    It's very very cold up there now.......
    don't need much flow to create the frost.......Major temp differential right now
    But like I said the first pic (the original post) the flame does not appear to be lazy...
  12. tinkabranc

    tinkabranc Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641
    Loc:
    South Coast MA
    Raid hubby's tool box ;-)
    Screwdriver with a long handle and/or chisels work great to get the
    clinkers out. IMO the Harman tool is only good for quick scraping.
  13. crausch

    crausch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    747
    Loc:
    Littlestown, PA
    The long screwdriver is an excellent tool for getting tough carbon deposits. I use the screwdriver to get around the lip at the front of the auger. Also to scrape a little inside the auger tube. I found that a 3/4" or 1" wide long handled gasket scraper wors great for the sides of the burn pot. On ocassion I use a 90 degree o-ring pic to make sure the bottom 5 holes are clear.

    Things I have found about cleaning my Harman is:
    1. Keep the 5 holes in front of the auger (bottom of burn pot) cleaned. Do this whenever you scrape the burn pot.
    2. Loosen the 2 thumb screws under the burn plot. Remove plate. Remove the ash. Do this about every 15 bags unless your pellets create excessive ash. I always unplug stove and let cool before cleaning this area. Both item #1 and #2 I just listed will keep your igniter working its best.
    3. Keep the carbon build up inside the the auger tube to a minumum. I found that carbon will build up just inside the tube near the the front. If the carbon deposits build up here, your auger may start squeaking as the first flight/fin of the auger rubs on the carbon and the side of the tube.
  14. Dr_Drum

    Dr_Drum Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Loc:
    Saco, Maine
  15. pellet_neophyte

    pellet_neophyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Update:

    Installer rep here today. Put some sealing tape on pipes. No noticing smoke inside anymore. Also schooled us a bit better on how cleaned out the burnpot should remain. Our pellets are producing a high amount of ash and he shed some light on that. Gave us some new pellets to try out for comparison purposes. Still burning through ours at the moment.
  16. bungalobob

    bungalobob Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Loc:
    central ct
    Good to hear those pipes were taped, if your not smelling the smoke now it will at least put you and your family at ease a bit. I've burned two different types of pellets so far and the difference is incredible with amount of ash. Glad the rep gave you some pointers on your stove and its operation. Enjoy the heat and your learning season.
  17. Jefflitzy

    Jefflitzy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Loc:
    The other province of Ontario.
    I have installed numerous pellet stove and all joints must be taped with the foil tape or leakage will happen from the venting as well as high temp rtv(red silicone) on the spa. We commonly hit -40 in our area and as long as i do this I have no interior smoke smell on stove installations.

    Jeff
  18. TomPajak

    TomPajak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Loc:
    Amsterdam,NY
    First off very nice choice in stoves..secondly
    The smell you are smelling is NORMAL...
    the installers should have told you that after they showed you how to operate the stove..the paint needs to be CURED or burnt off..why?I don't know..it should be done at the factory not in our homes...
    but after a few hours mine was fine and never smelledl again..
    3-4 feed rate is good start and since you are in ROOM TEMP MODE the TEMP dial goes by actual temperature so 5-ish is actually somewhere around 75-77 degrees...1-7 settings are used in the STOVE TEMP MODE which I use and it DOES NOT equal room temp setting

    example would be your 5 setting in room temp mode..it will NOT give you 75-77 temp in stove temp mode
    I wish Harman would do a little research and find out the BTU output of all the settings in Stove Temp MODE(only 42 total) so I wouldn't have to guess...would it change anything in my heating..prob not but it would be handy to know what setting produces what kind of btu
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,062
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    HarmanP68,

    I think if you read all of the thread you'll find that they could tell the difference between a curing smell and a smoke smell that only went away after the joints were properly sealed for this to be clearly seen please refer to msg #30 of this thread at http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewreply/354349/ .

    A SMOKE smell or, for the smokers out there that can't always smell that well, a persistent burning feeling in the eyes, with the unit in operation and its doors closed is not, I REPEAT NOT normal.
  20. pellet_neophyte

    pellet_neophyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Things have been going very smoothly with the pellet stove. We really appreciate the feel of the heat. We haven't been this warm in Maine and we almost feel like we're cheating. LOL We are working out how to use the pellet stove and the furnace to keep the basement and the 2nd floor sufficiently warm. Thanks for all the helpful information and encouragement -- it made a huge difference. We've been scraping ash regularly and after running two different types of pellets provided by our dealer, we now understand how much ash our pellets produce and simply have to adjust and respond appropriately. We're gearing up for our first big clean out. LOL I'm on here rereading and researching cleaning advice. We've got a wet/dry vac that we're thinking of leaving outside (if it isn't -15!) and running the hose up through the window. Does this make any sense? We'll see... off to learn.

    Thanks again!
  21. lessoil

    lessoil Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    682
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    Glad to hear things are working out.
    After I put the tape on the exhaust pipe, the smell of smoke was gone.
    The "new" smell of the stove went away after a few days.
    We are getting condensation on our air intake pipe. I will have to insulate it.
    This first year is a learning experience for sure!
    The other night I thought we had enough pellets to last the night.....I was wrong.
    It was 63 downstairs when I got up. Oh well did a quick clean,added pellets and fired it back up.

    We sure are enjoying the heat as are our two babies!

    Attached Files:

  22. tkrock

    tkrock New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Loc:
    Pottstown,PA
    Here is a link from Harman on cleaning your stove.....
    http://www.harmanstoves.com/maintenance/p38&p61cleaninginstructions;.pdf
  23. Sawduster

    Sawduster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Loc:
    Vermont
    If your stove keeps running out of pellets you might consider the hopper extension. It was well worth the extra money to me. Mine will heat a 1500 sq. ft. house to between 65 degrees and 80 degrees depending on what room you are in when it is below zero for up to 30 hours on a fill. It will hold around 130 lbs. with the extension. You won't have to fill it nearly as often.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page