Please help newbie.. where and how would you stack wood on my property? Diagram attached

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lithnights

Dec 1, 2012
SE PA
Newbie here.. I am trying to determine the ideal place to store my firewood on my property, and I was hoping I could get some advice. This will be only my 2nd year burning so I'm still learning obviously.

If you don't want to read my book below, just take a look at my property layout, and give me your thoughts? If you don't mind reading my book, here you go!

My suburban property is tiny..only a quarter acre. See the diagram below which hopefully gives a better visual. Yes, another one of those houses jammed into a small lot, but that's what we get around here. My stove is on the left side of the home. That side of the property has a neighbor's 6 ft tall fence running down the property line. Last year I stacked my wood along that fence. I built and used about 4 or 5 wood racks, each 8ft wide x 4 ft high x 18" deep. Three of my racks hold one cord. Being ignorant, I ordered a cord at a time, most of it unseasoned, so I will not make that mistake again. Thus, I just ordered and stacked 3 cords, which should get me through most of the winter. I'd love to store/season 10+ cords (I'm an Eagle Scout..Be Prepared!), but space is the problem.